×

Status message

COVID-19 Updates: CCAPS and the University

2021 North American Forest Insect Work Conference

NAFIWC Logo
  • Conference Dates: May 26–28, 2021

  • Conference Time: All times are listed in Central Daylight Saving time

  • Virtual Format: Due to COVID-19, 2021 North American Forest Insect Work Conference is going virtual

  • Deadline for submitting proposals for workshops and symposia has passed

Shaping Forests: Action in a Changing World

The 7th North American Forest Insect Work Conference will be held virtually through Zoom on May 26–28, 2021!

This year’s conference is themed "Shaping Forests: Action in a Changing World." The future of forest entomology will be shaped by cooperation and collaboration among researchers and educators from all professional and personal backgrounds. Therefore, it is our hope that this meeting will effect positive change in the field of forest entomology and beyond.

North American Forest Insect Work Conference 2021 – Code of Conduct

The organizers of the 2021 North American Forest Insect Work Conference are committed to providing a safe environment for all attendees. This means regardless of:

  • sex or gender identity,
  • age,
  • ethnicity,
  • religion,
  • disability,
  • sexual orientation, or
  • appearance.

We strive to be an open-minded and welcoming community and it’s important to keep in mind that hostile environments are not productive ones. By registering for and attending this meeting you agree to respect and follow this code of conduct.

You are expected to participate in open and respectful communication and be mindful of your fellow attendees. You are also expected to request permission to screen capture presented information and keep your cell phone on silent while others are presenting. You are also expected to stand up for your fellow attendees and notify a moderator should you witness someone violating this code of conduct or participating in harassment.

Harassment includes any offensive verbal comment or gesture that is related to sex or gender identity, age, ethnicity, religion, disability, sexual orientation, or appearance. This may include, but is not limited to:

  • intimidation,
  • disrupting speakers,
  • unwelcome comments or attention, and
  • spamming.

Harassment will not be accepted or tolerated, and you will be asked to stop immediately. Moderators and NAFIWC leadership hold the right to decide the appropriate actions to take and this may range from a warning to expulsion from NAFIWC.

 

Important Dates and Deadline

  • June 15, 2020: deadline for submitting proposals for workshops and symposia

  • July 1, 2020: finalizing program selections

  • April 25, 2021: last day to receive the discounted room rate

  • May 25-28, 2021: conference dates

Committees

Organizing Committee

Chair: Jess Hartshorn, Clemson University, Department of Forestry and Environmental Conservation, jhartsh@clemson.edu

Brian Aukema, University of Minnesota, Department of Entomology, bhaukema@umn.edu
 
Rachel Arango, USDA Forest Service, FPL, rachel.arango@usda.gov

Jeff Garnas, University of New Hampshire, Natural Resources and the Environment, jeff.garnas@unh.edu

Rich Hofstetter, Northern Arizona University, School of Forestry, rich.hofstetter@nau.edu

Kier Klepzig, The Jones Center at Ichauway, kier.klepzig@jonesctr.org

Bob Rabaglia, USDA Forest Service, FHP, bob.rabaglia@usda.gov

Program Committee

Co-chair: Kier Klepzig, The Jones Center at Ichauway, kier.klepzig@jonesctr.org

Co-chair: Rich Hofstetter, Northern Arizona University, School of Forestry, rich.hofstetter@nau.edu

Deepa Pureswaran, Natural Resources Canada, deepa.pureswaran@canada.ca

Jeff Garnas, University of New Hampshire, Natural Resources and the Environment, jeff.garnas@unh.edu

Sponsorship

Kevin Chase, Bartlett Tree Experts, Charlotte, NC, kchase@bartlett.com

Posters

Rich Hofstetter, Northern Arizona University, School of Forestry, rich.hofstetter@nau.edu