×

Status message

COVID-19 Update: Read CCAPS's operational updates or visit the Safe Campus website for the University's operational updates.

2021 North American Forest Insect Work Conference

NAFIWC Logo
  • Conference dates: May 25-28, 2021

  • Virtual Format: Due to Covid-19, 2021 North American Forest Insect Work Conference is going virtual

  • Deadline for submitting proposals for workshops and symposia has passed 

Shaping Forests: Action in a Changing World

The 7th North American Forest Insect Work Conference will be held along the North Shore of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN from May 25–28, 2021!

Duluth is home to the Port of Duluth-Superior, also known as the Cargo Capital of the Great Lakes. Being a major hub of national and international cargo transport, a major tourist destination, and a hotbed of climate change impacts, Duluth is the perfect host city for our event themed “Shaping Forests: Action in a Changing World”. The future of forest entomology will be shaped by cooperation and collaboration among researchers and educators from all professional and personal backgrounds. Therefore, it is our hope that this meeting will affect positive change in the field of forest entomology and beyond.

Important Dates and Deadline

  • June 15, 2020: deadline for submitting proposals for workshops and symposia

  • July 1, 2020: finalizing program selections

  • April 25, 2021: last day to receive the discounted room rate

  • May 25-28, 2021: conference dates

Committees

Organizing Committee

Chair: Jess Hartshorn, Clemson University, Department of Forestry and Environmental Conservation, jhartsh@clemson.edu

Kier Klepzig, The Jones Center at Ichauway, kier.klepzig@jonesctr.org

Brian Aukema, University of Minnesota, Department of Entomology, bhaukema@umn.edu 

Rachel Arango, USDA Forest Service, FPL, Rachel.arango@usda.gov 

Bob Rabaglia, USDA Forest Service, FHP, bob.rabaglia@usda.gov

Fred Miller, Joliet Junior College, the Morton Arboretum, fmiller@jjc.edu 

Program Committee

Co-chair: Kier Klepzig, The Jones Center at Ichauway, kier.klepzig@jonesctr.org

Co-chair: Rich Hofstetter, Northern Arizona University, School of Forestry, rich.hofstetter@nau.edu

Jeff Garnas, University of New Hampshire, Natural Resources and the Environment, jeff.garnas@unh.edu

Deepa Pureswaran, Natural Resources Canada, deepa.pureswaran@canada.ca