×

Status message

COVID-19 Update: The University of Minnesota will offer online, or alternative, instruction through the end of summer term 2020. Read CCAPS's operational updates or visit the Safe Campus website for the University's operational updates.

2021 North American Forest Insect Work Conference

NAFIWC Logo
  • Conference dates: May 25-28, 2021

  • Location: Holiday Inn & Suites, Duluth, Minnesota
  • Deadline for submitting proposals for workshops and symposia: May 15, 2020

Shaping Forests: Action in a Changing World

The 7th North American Forest Insect Work Conference will be held along the North Shore of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN from May 25–28, 2021!

Duluth is home to the Port of Duluth-Superior, also known as the Cargo Capital of the Great Lakes. Being a major hub of national and international cargo transport, a major tourist destination, and a hotbed of climate change impacts, Duluth is the perfect host city for our event themed “Shaping Forests: Action in a Changing World”. The future of forest entomology will be shaped by cooperation and collaboration among researchers and educators from all professional and personal backgrounds. Therefore, it is our hope that this meeting will affect positive change in the field of forest entomology and beyond.

Important Dates and Deadline

  • June 15, 2020: deadline for submitting proposals for workshops and symposia

  • July 1, 2020: finalizing program selections

  • April 25, 2021: last day to receive the discounted room rate

  • May 25-28, 2021: conference dates

Location and Accommodations

All conference sessions will take place at the Holiday Inn & Suites, 200 West First Street.

For your convenience a block of rooms have been secured with a nightly room rate of $109. To make your reservations and receive your discounted room rate, please call 218-722-1202 and ask for the North America Forest Insect Work Conference room block. 

The deadline to make your hotel room reservation and receive the special rate is April 25, 2021.

What To Do Around Town

Duluth offers a wealth of attractions for its visitors. On the Visit Duluth website, you'll find an array of world-class options for things to do in the area including restaurants and microbreweries, exciting sporting events, and some of the best outdoor activities.

Committees

Organizing Committee

Chair: Jess Hartshorn, Clemson University, Department of Forestry and Environmental Conservation, jhartsh@clemson.edu

Kier Klepzig, The Jones Center at Ichauway, kier.klepzig@jonesctr.org

Brian Aukema, University of Minnesota, Department of Entomology, bhaukema@umn.edu 

Rachel Arango, USDA Forest Service, FPL, Rachel.arango@usda.gov 

Bob Rabaglia, USDA Forest Service, FHP, bob.rabaglia@usda.gov

Fred Miller, Joliet Junior College, the Morton Arboretum, fmiller@jjc.edu 

Program Committee

Co-chair: Kier Klepzig, The Jones Center at Ichauway, kier.klepzig@jonesctr.org

Co-chair: Rich Hofstetter, Northern Arizona University, School of Forestry, rich.hofstetter@nau.edu

Jeff Garnas, University of New Hampshire, Natural Resources and the Environment, jeff.garnas@unh.edu

Deepa Pureswaran, Natural Resources Canada, deepa.pureswaran@canada.ca