Waste to Worth 2019

Collage of images: blue sky w/clouds, fertilizer spreader, cows, chickens
Waste to Worth logo

Waste to Worth brings together the nation’s best science on animal agriculture and the environment with:

  • Innovative outreach
  • Opportunities to meet and network with outstanding people
  • Mix with multidisciplinary specialists in a collaborative atmosphere

This is a winning recipe for turning waste into worth!

Livestock & Poultry Environmental Learning Center logo


The conference will be held at the Graduate Minneapolis, 615 Washington Avenue SE, Minneapolis, on the University of Minnesota’s East Bank campus. 


The University of Minnesota is an urban campus. There is public parking on campus for a charge, but space is limited. Please visit the Parking and Transportation website for public parking maps and light rail information


To reserve a sleeping room and receive the group block rate of $160 plus tax per night, please register one of the following ways:

1) Register online: Conference attendees 

2) Register online: Government per diem-eligible attendees
Note: the hotel will ask for proof of government per diem rate eligibility at time of check-in.

3) Call the hotel at 612-379-8888, press 1 for reservations, and ask for the Waste to Worth 2019 group rate.

Guests have until Monday, April 1, 2019, (or the block sells out) to reserve a room under the group block. Reservations after this date will be accepted on a space-and-rate-available basis. 

We encourage you to take advantage of the group block rate and make your room reservations early!


Planning Committee

Erin Cortus, University of Minnesota, ecortus@umn.edu

Kevin Janni, University Of Minnesota, kjanni@umn.edu

Mary Keena, North Dakota State University, mary.keena@ndsu.edu

Teng Lim, University of Missouri, limt@missouri.edu

Leslie Johnson, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, leslie.johnson@unl.edu

Robb Meinen, Penn State Extension, rjm134@psu.edu

Becky Larson, University of Wisconsin-Madison, rebecca.larson@wisc.edu

Joe Harrison, Washington State University, jhharrison@wsu.edu

Jeff Porter, Natural Resources Conservation Service, jeffrey.porter@gnb.usda.gov

Lide Chen, University of Idaho, lchen@uidaho.edu,

Melissa Wilson, University of Minnesota, wilso984@umn.edu

Rick Stowell, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, richard.stowell@unl.edu

Kristi Fischer, University of Minnesota, fisch475@umn.edu

Shafiqur Rahman, North Dakota State University, s.rahman@ndsu.edu

Leif Fixen, The Nature Conservency, leif.fixen@tnc.org

Erica Rogers, Michigan State university, roger392@msu.edu

Rick Koelsch, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, rkoelsch1@unl.edu

Abby O'Keefe, University of Minnesota, aokeefe@umn.edu

Chryseis Modderman, University of Minnesota, cmodderm@umn.edu

Sandy Means, Natural Resources Conservation Service, sandy.means@gnb.usda.gov

Nichole Embertson, Whatcom Conservation District, nembertson@whatcomcd.org

Tommy Bass, Montana State University, tmbass@montana.edu

Suresh Niraula, University of Minnesota, sniraula@umn.edu

Megan Webb, University of Minnesota, mwebb@umn.edu

Paul Engels, University of Minnesota, enge0410@umn.edu

Contact Us

General Information Questions
612-625-2765 | ccapsconf5@umn.edu
Registration Questions
612-625-2900 | ccapsreg@umn.edu