Adjunct Faculty Model

The adjunct faculty model used by the Construction Management program means that our instructors are practitioners in their field, dealing with the day-to-day challenges of construction projects and bringing their experience to the classroom. This real-world knowledge is repeatedly identified by students as one of the strong points of the department. Biographies of our faculty can be found here.

New faculty joining the program in AY 2021−22: Neil Carlson, CMGT 4303 Industrial Hygiene Principles; Mariaha Dean, CMGT 3001W Introduction to Construction.

Thank you to faculty who have retired or who can no longer teach for us: Nirmal Jain (12 years), Cullen O’Neill (7 years), Jason Hanlon (2 years).

Construction Management Faculty 2021–22

Faculty List Semester Hired
A. Peter Hilger, AIA, Faculty Director Fall 1997
Debra Becker Fall 2009
Brian Bowen Fall 2014
Benjamin Bowman Spring 2019
Neil Carlson Spring 2022
John Chapman Summer 2012
Jean Cranston Spring 2018
Bradley Creager Summer 2008
Mariaha Dean Spring 2022
Dwight Elthon, LEED AP Spring 2004
David Galetka Fall 2013
Jason Hanlon Spring 2020
Stephen Hauser Spring 2003
Jay Hietpas Spring 2013
Scott Holm Spring 2012
Heather Kossila, AIA, LEED AP, CM-Lean Spring 2014
Ethan Laubach Fall 2014
Klaus Lemke Spring 2014
Robert Linder, PE Spring 2016
Pedro Lopez Spring 2021
Chris Mavis Spring 2018
Justine Pliska Spring 2013
Jack Rasmussen Fall 2020
Vickie Schleuning Summer 2018
Marah Sobczak Fall 2020
Kenneth Styrlund, PE, LEED AP Fall 2003

Applied Business Faculty

Charles Bethel Fall 2016
Michael Essien Fall 2018
David J. Franke Fall 2015
Deborah Mackay Fall 2009
Stacy O’Fallon Fall 2018
Kay Rindels Fall 2018
Jody Tableporter Fall 2015
Steven Taylor Fall 2012

Faculty Awards and Outreach Activities 

Construction Management program faculty are established and respected members of their fields. In addition to their teaching activities, they receive professional recognition and awards and serve on local and statewide boards. The following is a summary of some of their achievements during 2021−22.

Congratulations to all of our faculty!

  • Jay Hietpas, CMGT 4001 – Innovative Contracting, was elected Chair of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Committee on Project Delivery Methods, part of the National Academy of Sciences
  • Scott Holm, CMGT 4073 – Building Codes for Construction Managers, and CMGT 4304 – Fire and Life Safety Principles, has been appointed Vice Chair for the International Code Council Education Committee. Scott has also been appointed Chair of the Architect, Landscape Architect, Certified Interior Design (ALACID) group for the MN Board of Architects/Engineers (AELSLAGID)
  • Peter Hilger, Faculty Director, has been appointed to the Campus Writing Board


The program staff are a critical component of our success, the depth of which is a differentiator between our program and the typical college program. Without this staffing, we would be unable to achieve our mission and goals, much less recruit new students to the program and workforce. The program staff for 2021–22 are as follows.

Staff List Role
Robert Stine Interim Dean, College of Continuing and Professional Studies (CCAPS)
Michelle Koker Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education
Courtney Barrette Director of Engagement & External Relations, Alumni & Fundraising Liaison
Anthony Scott Director of Applied and Professional Studies
A. Peter Hilger Faculty Director, Construction Management
Megan Seltz CMGT Senior Academic Advisor, CFMSA Liaison
Willie Wong Transfer Admissions Coordinator
Elizabeth Hruska Assistant Director, Career and Internship Services−CCAPS, CDes, CFANS
Lynn Cross Program Administrator, CCAPS Undergraduate Programs
Geoff Couling Administrative Specialist, CCAPS Undergraduate Programs
Jessica Haensch Scholarship/Financial Aid Coordinator, CCAPS
Leigh Connor Marketing/Brand Consultant, CCAPS
Mia Boos Communications Specialist