The HSM advisory board is engaged and committed to the success of the program. The members represent a broad section of the health care industry. 

This important University group of industry leaders and educators provides valuable advice and support on trends and issues in health care and health services management, keeping the program abreast of industry needs and on the leading edge of professional practice. Board members contribute to the quality of students’ educational experiences, enhancing their future roles as leaders in the field.

The advisory board meets twice a year—fall and spring—to learn about program updates, outline new ideas and initiatives, and seek input and direction from board members.

Advisory Board

Name Title Affiliation
Shirley Barnes Chief Executive Officer Crest View Senior Communities
Jose Bernard Chief of Staff United Hospital
Emily Blomberg Chief Operating Officer HCMC
Caroline Carlin Faculty UMN Medical School
Patti Cullen President/CEO Care Providers of Minnesota
Karen Erickson Senior Director, Cardiac and Vascular Marketing Strategic Solutions & Alliance Development Medtronic, Inc.
Trevor Foshang Former Dean, College of Chiropractic Campbellsville University
Joseph Gaugler Robert L. Kane Endowed Chair in Long-Term Care (LTC) and Aging & Professor UMN School of Public Health
Bridgette Grobe President of the HSM Alumni Network UnitedHealthcare
Beth Heinz Chief Quality Officer Fairview Health Services
Amy Jerdee President St. Francis Regional Medical Center
Geoff Kaufmann CEO, North Central Blood Services American Red Cross
Bill Kenney CEO Dermatology Consultants, PA
Jim King Senior Partner and Chief Quality Officer Witt/Kieffer
Barbara Klick CEO Sholom Community Alliance
Catherine Klugherz VP of Medicine Specialties Park Nicollet
Amy Korzenowski Senior Government Consultant Mercer
Brian Mast National Vice President of Operations Agiliti
Nickolas Nyhus Chief Administrative Officer University of Minnesota Physicians
Patrick Sauer Executive Healthcare Operations and Innovation Leader  
Jenny Schoenecker Senior Director, Quality and Patient Safety Minnesota Hospital Association
Nick Smith Vice President of the HSM Alumni Network United Healthcare
Randy Snyder (Ex-Officio) Executive Director Board of Executives of Long Term Services and Supports
Barb Spurrier Senior Vice President Well Living Lab, Inc.
Dan Strittmater VP Operations Monarch Healthcare Management
Mel Sullivan SVP, Chief People Officer Ecumen
Nikki Terveer Administrative Fellowship Coordinator Sanford Health
Kari Thurlow President and CEO LeadingAge Minnesota

Current as of September 2020