The Construction Management Program Advisory Board was highlighted during the 2012 ACCE accreditation visit as a “strength of the program.” Composed of a broad representation of local industry, it is engaged and committed to the success of the program.

Formed in the late 1990s to promote the development of the Construction Management program, the Board was restructured in 2010 into a chartered, self-governing body of industry and construction/facility association professionals. Its mission is to advise the program on the direction of the industry as a whole and provide advice directly to the program in seven strategic areas.

  1. Periodic review of the Construction Management curriculum and accreditation
  2. Review of any new Construction Management curricular or programmatic initiatives proposed by CCAPS
  3. Identification of ways to integrate the larger industry community into the program by coordinating with student groups, faculty, and staff on such matters as fundraising, scholarship/endowment development, academic outreach, public relations, and enrollment growth
  4. Setting standards and policies for membership on the Board
  5. Serving as a resource on issues brought to the Board by CCAPS or other collegiate or private and public stakeholders
  6. Identification of potential faculty, particularly adjunct faculty
  7. Facilitation of industry activities in support of students and learning

Seats on the Advisory Board are held by an organization, rather than by an individual. Seats are held on a three-year renewable basis. There are presently 50 seats chartered, with additional ex-officio members consisting of University staff and representatives of departments and colleges. The student and alumni groups are represented on the Board, with the group presidents serving a one-year term.

Four standing committees designated in the charter meet on an as-needed basis: an Executive Committee, Academic Committee, Development Committee, and Student Activities and Outreach Committee. Ad hoc committees may be formed at any time to explore specific issues or initiatives.

Annual Board Meetings

Two meetings of the full Advisory Board are held each year.

Fall Board Meeting: October 26, 2021
This meeting was held via Zoom. Six new companies were welcomed to the board: ADC, Tri-Construction, KMS Construction, Eden Resources, PWS-Meyer Companies, and Wells Concrete. Representatives from these companies will bring more diversity to the Board. The main discussion topic was the supply chain issues in the construction industry, and the response to them. Members reported wage and material cost increases, project delays, skilled labor shortages. Responses have included switching to alternative products, careful planning for labor and material shortages, and greater consideration of project funding and timing to ensure it can be completed. It was felt to be a good environment for graduates to get a job. It was announced that Board Member Gen McJilton has received a Finance & Commerce Top Women in Construction Award for Outstanding Project Management/ Estimating. There were 42 attendees. Meeting minutes available on request.

Spring Board Meeting: April 5, 2022
This meeting was held via Zoom. The meeting heard an overview of DEI initiatives for the College of Continuing and Professional Studies. The discussion topic was how to integrate DEI into the curriculum. The Board broke into discussion groups. Feedback included the need for meaningful and long-term change, the need for all students to be able to navigate the issues involved, the need for relationship building beyond transactions and quotas, bringing women into the industry, and understanding cultural differences. Connection to high schools was discussed to get students interested in the program and creating welcoming environments when they join the profession. Practical steps the program could take included inviting guest lecturers of color and visiting minority-owned businesses. The meeting also noted the recent passing of Richard Copeland, founder of Thor Construction, who had a major impact on DEI initiatives nationally and locally. There were 42 attendees. Meeting minutes available on request.

Board Members

Board membership in summer 2021 stood at 45 voting members.

Member Organization First Represented Current Representative (Primary/Alternate)
Adolfson & Peterson 2002 John Huyett
Advanced Design Contracting 2021 Foster Hacket
AGC MN − Associated General Contractors Minnesota Chapter 2005 Matt Semerad
American Engineering Testing, Inc. 2010 Rob Flickinger, Mike McCarthy
Ames Construction 2011 Jerry Volz
APi Construction Company 2010 Casey Campbell, Bob Miller
AWC − Association of Women Contractors 2007 Laura Karow
BATC − Builders Association of the Twin Cities 2013 David Siegel
Braun Intertec 2002 Dan Martin
C. S. McCrossan 2015 Kenny Beck, Katy Maus
CFMA 2012 John Markert
Colliers International 2019 Mark Parten
CPMI 2002 Paul Oberhaus
Dakota County Technical College 2021 Scott Holm
Doran Companies 2011 Paul Kolias*
EDEN Resources 2021 Mariaha Dean
Egan Company 2002 Reid Romer
Empirehouse, Inc. 2002 Mike Gilbert
Greiner Construction 2019 Hans Siefker
Habitat for Humanity 2013 Chad Bouley
Hennepin County 2008 Gilbert Odonkor*
HGA Architects and Engineers 2013 Joe Tarlizzo, Dale Wenkus
IFMA − International Facilities Management Association 2010 Laura Magnuson
JE Dunn Construction 2003 Ken Styrlund, Brent Marlow
KMS Construction 2021 Ken McCraley
Knutson Construction Co. 2003 Ryan Rydberg, Katya Pilling
Kraus-Anderson Construction Co. 2002 Patrick Mulcahey*
Loeffler Construction & Consulting 2019 Sara Hudoba
MCA − Minnesota Construction Association 2010 Gregg Johnson, Corinna Hastings
McGough Companies 2004 Dan McKay, Tim McGough
Meyer Borgman Johnson 2013 Cullen O'Neill, Murphy Curran
MN Department of Transportation 2010 Tom Ravn
Mortenson Construction 2002 Joe Pritzkow, Barry Morgan
MSA − Minnesota Subcontractors Association 2010 Nick McNeely, Tony Grazzini
Opus Design Build 2005 Jeremiah Cunningham
PCL Construction Services, Inc. 2005 Sean Scott
Pulte Homes 2013 Mike Barden
PWS 2021 Lee Meyer
RJM Construction 2013 Brian Recker*
Ryan Companies US, Inc. 2002 Ben Terry*, Mike Cairl
SullivanDay Construction 2019 Steve Day
Target Corporation 2002 Gen McJilton*
Tri-Construction 2021 Calvin Littlejohn
UMN Capital Planning and Project Management 2012 Scott Everson
UMN College of Continuing and Professional Studies 2002 A. Peter Hilger**
UMN College of Science and Engineering 2012 Ann Johnson
Watson-Forsberg 2010 Dale Forsberg
Weis Builders, Inc. 2002 Nikki Hauck, Chris Krieg
Wells Concrete 2021 Greg Roth
Xcel Energy 2015 Dan Schilling

* Alumni
** Faculty member